How to watch Google's Pixel event: start time, live blog, and streaming

0
 
من طرف JASELINEte

It's Pixel time everybody. Apple's big fall phone event has come and gone, and it's Google's turn to take the stage. The company is set to unveil a slew of new hardware at an event in San Francisco today, and we'll be there (in person and via the power of blogging) to bring you all the news you need.

If you've not heard anything about what to expect, well, congratulations for managing to stay off the internet for such a long time! Today's big ticket items have already been so thoroughly leaked they're practically dripping on the floor, but the main focus will undoubtedly be a pair of new smartphones dubbed the Pixel and Pixel XL.


Follow along with our live blog right here!

These phones are expected to be identical apart from their size, with the Pixel coming with a 5-inch display and the Pixel XL boosting that to 5.5-inches. We're expecting a standard slate of specs, including the new Snapdragon 821 processor, 4GB of RAM, fingerprint readers, and large batteries. Leaked images suggest the Pixels are iPhone-lookalikes, although they are being billed as "made by Google," so expect the company to emphasize how it's left its mark on the devices' software.

As well as phones, we're expecting a new Google Chromecast, with reports suggesting the company will unveil an updated device named the Chromecast Ultra, offering 4K and HDR support for $69. We could also see a new Google Wi-Fi router (separate to the company's OnHub platform), and we'll almost certainly hear more about Google Home— the company's rival to the Amazon Echo, which was unveiled at Google I/O back in May.

So! Expect lots of new products to play with, with our team on the ground ready to poke and fiddle with whatever Google unveils. And will there be any surprises in store? Well, it's tricky to say, as the above list of devices already represents a pretty full bill. The only way to find out for sure is to watch along yourself:

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 9AM / New York: 12PM / London: 5PM / Berlin 6PM / Moscow: 7PM / Beijing: 12AM (October 5th) / Tokyo: 1AM (October 5th) / Sydney 3AM (October 5th).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge's live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live stream: Google's live stream is available on YouTube. You can watch on web, mobile, and anywhere you can watch YouTube.

التعليقات 0

لنترك التعليق دخول أو تسجيل